electronic directory

a young persons guide to electronic music

ecdr podcast 08 – alan smith

one comment

The eight edition of the Electronic Directory podcast is an hour of deep grooves from Irish Alan Smith.

Q & A with Alan Smith

Describe yourself

I’m 30 years old and living in Dublin, I’ve been listening to electronic music from an early age be it House/Techno/Electro etc and started mixing around the age of 15 and have been buying music ever since. I’ve always been into the more deeper kind of sound which comes through in my mixes. My inspiration comes from many different producers, of course there are the original pioneers but there are also guys like Carl Carig, Dan Curtin, Drexciya who are big heroes of mine and have made timeless music which I really love. Music from Artists and Lables such as Rondenion, Trus’me, Theo Parrish, Omar S, Ron Trent, Rick Wade, Aesthetic Audio, Sistrum, Firecracker are really hiting the spot for me at the moment.

I’m also working on my own productions as well and hope to get stuff out sometime soon, just a matter of finding time and coming up with tracks which sound good. Starting a label is also something I would like to do at some stage in the future.

How would you describe the sound in the mix ?

The idea behind the mix is to blend some of my favourite producers together and bring the sound through various moods and grooves ie – bright/dark/trippy/soulful/upbeat/experimental. It also features one of my all-time favourite tracks called Solanus, its an amazing track from Vainquer on Chain Reaction. Theres also an outro track with one of Drexciya’s more experimental tracks off the Grava 4 album or Storm as they refer to them which is quite unique.

What’s your current top 10 ?

  • 01. Rondenion – Tokyo Deep EP [Aesthetic Audio]
  • 02. Unknown – Subway To Cologne [Story]
  • 03. Ron Trent – Journeys To U [Future Vision]
  • 04. Ron Trent – Conjure [Future Vision]
  • 05. Pepe Bradock – Pistes Insolites Vol. 3 [Atavisme]
  • 06. Firecracker EP 2 [Firecracker Recordings]
  • 07. Glenn Underground – Chicago Theme [Trippin Records]
  • 08. Trus’me – Working Nights [Stereo]
  • 09. Rick Wade – The Good The Bad And The Deep [Yore]
  • 10. Nebraska – Mixed Up Music For Mixed Up People [Downlow]

Download Electronic Directory 08 Alan Smith Podcast

Direct download here or Subscribe to the podcast


  • 01. MOS & Aroy Dee – Metro [Delsin]
  • 02. Strand – MF20 [Delsin]
  • 03. Lucky & Easy – Pimp Sole Blisters [Ann Aimee]
  • 04. Move D – Acid [Modern Love]
  • 05. The Mole – Border Times [Musique Risque]
  • 06. Kai Alce – Hi Lee Teched Off [Realsoon]
  • 07. Glenn Underground – Chicago Theme [Trippin Records]
  • 08. The Enigma – Man On Fire [Eargasmic]
  • 09. Rick Wade – Xavi [Yore]
  • 10. Patrice Scott – Visions Of Mantada [Aesthetic Audio]
  • 11. Dan Curtin – Be With You [Tuning Spork]
  • 12. Rework – Psych Doll [Playhouse]
  • 13. Peter Ford – All That Nothing [Force Inc]
  • 14. Vainquer – Solanus (Extracted) [Chain Reaction]
  • 15. Claro Intellecto – Nodrex [Modern Love]
  • 16. Claro Intellecto – Operation [Modern Love]
  • 17. (Outro) Drexciya – Powers Of The Deep [Clone]

Download older podcasts below


Check out his MySpace for more mixes: www.myspace.com/alansmithsounds

Written by Kazuumi

October 31st, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Posted in Podcast

Tagged with

One Response to 'ecdr podcast 08 – alan smith'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'ecdr podcast 08 – alan smith'.

  1. Savage mix Alan. Really interesting selection. Go on the Irish :)

    Jamie Behan

    10 Aug 09 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply